Vintage Finds

A selection of yellow and green vintage cache pots

When it comes to vintage—it’s all about the hunt.  Those of you who find bliss in garage sales and antique malls know what I’m talking about.  It’s the quest for a bargain, for serendipity, for that missing piece. In our world of mass production and chain stores, there’s splendor to be found in the unique, the handmade, the kitschy, and of seeing “Made in America” on the bottom of something.  What fun to see an item that makes you laugh and say “That’s just awful!” and “I have to have it!” sometimes all in the same breath.  I like to surround myself with things that have history and evoke good memories. 

Groovy, spotted ceramic cache pot

Vintage cache pots from the 50s, 60s and 70s are finds for me.  Most are ideal for a 4” plant or a small square of floral foam. It also happens that 60s style décor is it right now, as are the citrus colors of that era.  The bright yellows and greens of mid-century home decoration remind me of white painted lattice and gingham check wallpaper punctuated with daisies.  Makes me smile.  An electric green or yellow pot is the ultimate match for a domed posy of daisy mums or a tropical houseplant with bold variegation.  Orange vintage cache pots, naturally, warrant their own consideration; stay tuned for that post.

Can you have too many cache pots?  Not I.  Every year a few are added, some given away, but I like a full shelf from which to draw.  For every houseplant and cut flower there is a perfect container to fit the size and form.  A selection of cache pots allows a broad range of colors and shapes for hostess gift bouquets, as well. And while your empty ceramic container is biding time for your next must-have plant purchase, it can be used for storing plant tags or garden gloves on the potting bench.

© Colleen Miko, 2010

About Colleen Miko

Colleen Miko is a certified professional horticulturist with 20+ years experience in landscape design who has designed award winning gardens for the NW Flower & Garden Show as well as HGTV’s “Landscaper’s Challenge”.
This entry was posted in Design Inspiration, Vintage and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Vintage Finds

  1. Totally groovy and refreshing colors! And I love how the yellow seating really makes for a bright pop. I’d totally expect James Bond or Austin Powers to be just outside the frame.

  2. Colleen Miko says:

    Recently I was asked to identify the markings on the bottom of the cache pots I have close ups of in this post–here it goes:
    Spotted green: CALIF. U.S.A. D6 RBP6
    warm yellow with blotches: no markings
    splotchy green & yellow: CALIF. USA PB2

    I realized that I wrote something to the effect that my orange cache pots warrant a separate post and to “stay tuned”–the time is as good as ever to share those wonderful reminders of the 70s with everyone.

Leave a comment