Christmas in July–Garden Art

Glass ornaments hang from our entry pergola

Glass ornaments hang from our entry pergola

They may look like Christmas in July to some, but I love the multi-colored globes that hang from the big pergola over our entry path.  Looking into the garden from inside the front door or kitchen window, I watch them sway in the wind and drip rain.  When backlit by the western sun in the late afternoon they glow brightly.

In spring when the wisteria vine that engulfs the pergola blooms, that’s when most visitors notice the rainbow of ornaments that otherwise hide ten feet above our heads in the foliage.  Either that or when the thug of a vine sleeps in winter and the colorful bubbles plainly dangle.

IMGP8642

Wisteria blooming with a suncatcher from Dog and Pup glass

The spheres range in size from 3″ to 6.5″ with one heart that I found some years ago at the Northwest Flower & Garden Show on Valentine’s Day.  They have held up very well exposed to the elements year round, some for 5 years now.

While I have purchased them all over, my favorite place to get them is from Dog and  Pup glass in Coeur d’Alene Idaho.  I discovered them when in Spokane on business.  A huge display in a store window caught my eye and I ogled over the globes that were shining and tempting me like candy.  I couldn’t believe how reasonably priced they were compared to others I had seen.  Not only that, Dog and Pup makes their “suncatchers”, as they call them, up to 6.5″ in diameter, which is rare.  They have a booth at various festivals throughout the Northwest, but also sell online, which is how I have purchased mine.  You can order by the color and size and if they don’t have them readymade, John and Darlene Johnson will create them custom for you.  Check them out at http://www.dogandpupglass.com

Globes stand out when wisteria is dormant

Globes stand out when wisteria is dormant & add unexpected color when there is none

Slowly my collection is growing and it will take a slew of them to have the impact I want. The pergola is 10′ high, 8′ wide and covers a 12′ run of flagstone pathway.  Now that I have ten globes it’s starting to look bold and festive like I envisioned at the start.  I wonder how many I will have when I decide it’s “right”?

©Colleen Miko, 2015

About Colleen Miko

Colleen Miko is a certified professional horticulturist with 20 years experience in landscape design who has designed award winning gardens for the NW Flower & Garden Show as well as HGTV’s “Landscaper’s Challenge”. Colleen is freelance garden writer and speaker.
This entry was posted in Misc and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Christmas in July–Garden Art

  1. Wow Colleen…what a beautifully written article!! You are so kind…its been our honor to work with you and your husband. Would you mind if I copied your article to our web site…of course with an appropriate link and credit? Without you we wouldn’t be…thank you so much.:-)

    • Colleen Miko says:

      Yes, John, it would be great if you posted on your website with a link to my blog. And thank you for asking! I look forward to adding more of your suncatchers to my pergola over time.

Leave a Reply

