GARDEN RESOLUTIONS

This is the time of year when one naturally thinks about resolutions and self improvement.  I am not typically one for New Year’s resolutions, but I know a lot of folks use the 1st of January as a starting block for a race of their choosing.  In the dead of winter, however, I do find myself planning the garden season ahead.  When I plan, I imagine a perfect garden; a garden without the preface of “if I only…”.  And in this yearly planning, I am guilty of making garden resolutions.  Here are some garden resolutions I have been known to promise and perhaps you will recognize some of them as your own:
I will….

  • Not only fill, but regularly clean my slug traps
  • Clean and oil my tools after each use
  • Weed in the winter months
  • Prune the wisteria heavily to promote heavy flowering
  • Train the Clematis & hop vines bi-monthly to prevent a tangled bramble
  • Pinch back the asters and Chrysanthemums in May
  • Tie colored ribbon on the stems of lilies and gladiolas to identify their colors when dormant
  • Apply manure to the asparagus
  • Adjust the pH of my lawn at the right time of year
  • Not weed unless wearing gloves
  • Deadhead the Italian parsley
  • Dig out all the Alstroemeria after all
  • Apply deer/rabbit repellent regularly throughout the year
  • Prune the plum and willow at the right time in winter for forcing indoors
  • Keep up with weeding the bird’s foot trefoil
  • Divide my perennials this autumn
  • Use the strawberry runners to make new plants
  • Transplant the winterhazel to where I can appreciate it when it blooms
  • “Pinch” rather than prune the boxwood
  • Tie up the dying foliage of the narcissus to disguise it
  • Turn my compost pile regularly
  • Coppice my red and yellow twig dogwood to improve bark color

Whether you resolve to garden better, garden more, or garden less in 2012, may your time outdoors bring you joy and may your appreciation of the wonders of nature grow.  Thank you for reading my blog.

Cheers and Happy New Year,
Colleen at VERDURE

© Colleen Miko, 2012

About Colleen Miko

Colleen Miko is a certified professional horticulturist with 20 years experience in landscape design who has designed award winning gardens for the NW Flower & Garden Show as well as HGTV’s “Landscaper’s Challenge”. Colleen is a freelance garden writer and speaker who regularly writes "The Perennial Bookworm" where she reviews garden and natural science books, as well as a regular contributor to "WestSound Home & Garden Magazine" on a variety of horticulture topics.
This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

