Biodegradable Coffee Stir Sticks–Viva Verde!

This past week, while enjoying a latte at Hot Shots Java in Poulsbo, my friend Gayle pointed out something so clever, I have to share it: Pasta (linguine it appears to be) used as coffee stir sticks!  What a great idea for avoiding those red, plastic sticks–the ones that if you have ever done a beach clean up–show up over and over again (that and any plastic drink straw, but don’t get me started on beach trash).  And while the wooden ones are a step better because they are biodegradable; trees are much too valuable a resource to use for mixing a cup o’ joe.

Pasta!  It’s inexpensive per piece, compostable and ideal for situations where using a spoon (which is logical at home and in many office situations) is unsanitary or against health codes.  Thank you to the creative and forward thinking folks at Hot Shot Java for keeping plastic out of the landfills and giving me a stellar, sustainable idea.   www.hotshotsjava.com

About Colleen Miko

Colleen Miko is a certified professional horticulturist with 20 years experience in landscape design who has designed award winning gardens for the NW Flower & Garden Show as well as HGTV’s “Landscaper’s Challenge”. Colleen is a freelance garden writer and speaker who regularly writes "The Perennial Bookworm" where she reviews garden and natural science books, as well as a regular contributor to "WestSound Home & Garden Magazine" on a variety of horticulture topics.
This entry was posted in Make It, Viva Verde and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Biodegradable Coffee Stir Sticks–Viva Verde!

  1. Very cool…I wonder what kind of feedback they’ve gotten from customers. I’m always looking for ways to eliminate disposable products in my food business. All our to go ware is compostable, but a lot of it is made with conventional corn, an industry I’d rather not support. Once we have an indoor operation we’ll be able to reduce our sandwich offerings to just paper and reusable baskets, but drinks are trickier and produce a lot of waste.

    I personally don’t take sugar in my coffee – if you pour the cream in first and then the coffee, it mixes itself.

    Love your blog, cuz!

    • Colleen Miko says:

      I bet if you called and asked them, they’d tell you what their customers think of the stirrers. So many concerns when you’re serving food and yes, there is so much waste. I cringe when I order coffee and I get the million little plastic cups of creamer–I get why they do it: saves a lot of electricity used for refridgeration and many carafes of half used creamer. The flip side is, all the plastic in the landfill. And I’m sure that making the right choices to reduce waste can often cost the restaurant more–a hard decision in this cost conscious day and age. Wish we lived in the same town–I could devour one of your flatbread sandwiches right now!

Leave a Reply

