Author’s News

2011 has brought me a new opportunity to expand my knowledge of community horticulture: I have taken the position of Horticulture Educator for WSU Extension Kitsap County.  The main responsibility of my position is teaching and coordinating the Master Gardener Program and other related community horticulture programs.  I’ll also be providing water quality and stewardship education related to low-impact development, shorelines and native plants, all things about which I am passionate.  My friend Peg Tillery, whose shoes I will be trying to fill, is now the Beachwatcher and Shoreline Stewards Educator for WSU Extension, Kitsap County.  Peg had previously filled this job, as well as my new one, and is patiently bringing me up to speed on the position she filled for 9 years. I have a lot to learn.  We are both excited about being able to dedicate more time to the programs individually in 2011 and being able to work together again (I did my practicum for my MS Agriculture under her tutelage in 2007).

Of course, my design business: Colleen’s, A Landscape Design Company, is still up and running and I’ll be doing landscape design and horticultural consultation as time allows.  This blog, my freelance garden writing and speaking schedules will continue as planned, and that includes my participation in the NW Flower & Garden Show in Seattle in February.  As you can see, 2011 will be a busy year for me.  I’m sure that in the course of my new job I’ll be introduced to compelling people and things to share with my blog readers here at VERDURE.  Stay tuned……

About Colleen Miko

Colleen Miko is a certified professional horticulturist with 20 years experience in landscape design who has designed award winning gardens for the NW Flower & Garden Show as well as HGTV’s “Landscaper’s Challenge”. Colleen is freelance garden writer and speaker.
This entry was posted in Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Author’s News

  1. Congratulations, Colleen! They couldn’t have picked a better woman for the job!

Leave a Reply

