Reuse & Recycle Holiday Crafts–Make It

Sticker collage from postage stamps

Don’t you love the gorgeous ecosystem stamps the Post Office has been putting out for several years now? The most recent release was the Hawaiian Rainforest, which was naturally, lush and colorful.  The problem is there are only 10 stamps on the sheet, leaving all that beautiful background—in essence, leftover stickers that I can’t bear to put in the trash.  I create collages with the remainders on the back of envelopes.

Turn your holiday cards into mailing labels, recipe cards and gift tags

Christmas cards can be re-used in a million ways.  I’m a traditionalist when it comes to letters and cards and while the e-type save paper and postage, I can’t let go.  Every year I send and receive quite a stack.  I re-use the attractive images for gift tags by cutting out what I like with a scalloping scissor, punch a hole for a ribbon or twist tie and there you have it.  Or use them for mailing labels or recipe cards to give alongside homemade treats. I put whatever part of the card has been written on in the recycling bin. 

When I was little, my Grandma saved all the cards she received and she and I made a huge decoupaged Christmas picture on an old canvas.  I was entertained for many long hours with the project–snipping, cutting, gluing.  She added a gilded frame and now it’s a family heirloom that’s seasonally hung along with the other decorations.   

Re-use fruit boxes to store ornaments

One of my favorite holiday re-use items is the wonderful box that comes along with deliveries of fruit and other goodies.  Not only can they be very attractive and durable, but the way the insert trays are set up to cushion the fruit and treats is fabulous for storing ornaments safely.  My generous in laws send us fruit every holiday, and I enjoy everything from the pears down to the box.

About Colleen Miko

Colleen Miko is a certified professional horticulturist with 20 years experience in landscape design who has designed award winning gardens for the NW Flower & Garden Show as well as HGTV’s “Landscaper’s Challenge”. Colleen is freelance garden writer and speaker.
This entry was posted in Make It, Viva Verde and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

